Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

3-out-5-stars

indexFirst of all, a big thank-you to Netgalley for providing the ARC!

 It took me longer than usual to decide how to rate this book,  as I was back and forth between 2 and 3 stars.  I still feel  I could spend more time thinking it through and still not be 100% confident with my rating. First off, let me say that I was going into this with high expectations. The premise just sounded so incredible! I mean Necromancy, Geisha’s, Magic……what’s not to be excited about.  And that cover, so gorgeous!

The story itself was well-developed and I got a good sense of the magic system and the world. It wasn’t until the second half of the book that I actually started to feel immersed in the story.  Unfortunately though , I was bored for the majority of the book. The book was very slow and I had a really hard time getting into it.  Also, the writing was way too flowery for me and I struggled to focus on what the author was trying to say. Every time we met a new female character there were endless descriptions on the way she was dressed. I had to force myself not to skip over these parts. Honestly, not much happened and there was too much information to take in. I felt overwhelmed at times.  On a positive note,  I really enjoyed the magic system and the overall concept.

As for the characters, I never really felt a strong connection to any of them. They felt stiff and kind of boring. I feel like I didn’t get a good sense of their personalities. I did like the brother/sister relationship between Tea and Fox, even though it seemed too good to be true at times.  There was a character we met named Likh.  He was a character I found to be rather endearing. Even though he has a small role, it was a necessary one. I have a feeling he will be important in future books.

Another thing I enjoyed is the authors use of a second POV . This POV is from a bard who seeks out Tea and plans to sing about her life. These two POV’s are drastically different, one is fairly light and the other much darker. The second POV really added to the story and helped me see Tea as a stronger more in-depth character.

Despite the promising premise and the unique magical world, there just wasn’t enough plot for me.  I would have liked to see more action and less focus on dresses and hair pins.  I think that Tea has promise as a main character, and I will likely read the next book  just to see how she develops. Despite the negative, I can see the potential this series has. I am hoping that the next installment lives up to that potential.

Release Date : March 7, 2017

 

Leave a Reply

