Book Review : My Husband the Stranger by Rebecca Done

 

3-5-stars

31383687

First off, thank you NetGalley for this ARC.

I was a little nervous going into this story because it’s not the type of book I would usually go for.  This was a story about love, loss and mourning someone who is still very much alive.  Molly and Alex met and it was love at first sight.  The author did a good job at making me believe in the love between Alex and Molly. Most often stories involving love at first sight are cheesy and cause many, many eye-rolls on my part.  I didn’t feel that way here.

The novel starts off in the present (told from Molly’s view) where we learn Alex has suffered a terrible brain injury and is not the man he used to be.  He is not the loving, romantic man Molly fell in love with.  The second point of view is from Alex and takes place in the past. I liked Alex’s view, it really shows us who Alex was and just how much he truly loved Molly. This story is emotional and heartbreaking. I couldn’t imagine going through all Molly and Alex do.  How do you go on loving and sharing a life with someone you love, but who is now a complete stranger?

I did struggle a little through this book, it was slow going and the twists were pretty predictable.  I found the ending to be a bit rushed. It seemed like all was resolved pretty quickly and I felt conflicted over a few things and how they went down. Over-all it was a good read, for not being my usual genre.

Release Date : April 7th, 2017

 

One thought on “Book Review : My Husband the Stranger by Rebecca Done

Leave a Reply

